项目历史

世界宗教与精神项目(WRSP)于2010年在弗吉尼亚联邦大学成立。 WRSP的任务是提供有关世界上各种宗教和精神群体的客观,可靠和全面的信息。 因此,WRSP网站的中心特征是当代宗教和精神运动,已建立的世界宗教以及历史宗教和精神运动的概况。 记录学者尽可能地为他们所关注的群体准备个人资料。 每个简介都介绍了小组的历史,独特的信仰,仪式,组织和领导能力以及问题/挑战。 特别是对于较新的群体而言,可靠的信息通常难以获得,并且该网站为宗教学者,学生,媒体代表以及对了解当代世界宗教和精神选择的多样性有个人兴趣的人们提供全面,平衡的信息。 除小组简介外,WRSP还设有ARTICLES / PAPERS部分,其中包含奖学金,为该简介提供补充和背景信息; 档案部分,其中包含某些团体的重要历史文件,并提供指向其他档案站点的链接; WRSP论坛,与个人进行访谈,这些个人就WRSP任务相关的团体和问题提供重要的信息和观点; WRSP VIDEO CONNECTIONS,提供了可以在网上找到的上下文视频资料的链接; 和WRSP SPECIAL PROJECTS,它们提供了针对特定主题或地理区域的所有WRSP组件。

世界宗教与精神项目从Jeffrey K. Hadden教授于1995年与大学开设的“新宗教运动”课程共同创立的“新宗教运动首页”项目中汲取了最初的灵感和动力。 在哈登教授的领导下,“宗教运动首页”已成长为全球同类网站中最大的网站之一,并成为当代宗教运动领域学术和教学的重要互联网资源。 Hadden教授于2003年过世去世后,滑铁卢大学雷尼森学院的Douglas E. Cowan教授担任项目主任一职,以确保网站的持续性。 2010年,弗吉尼亚联邦大学的David G. Bromley教授成为项目总监,并重定向并扩大了如今已成为世界宗教与灵性项目(WRSP)的任务。 新项目已添加到原始项目中,并且现在从世界各地的学者中招募作者,他们是他们所介绍的小组的记录作者,而各学者团体则通过开发或WRSP特殊项目在WRSP中担当领导角色。

项目创始人/总监:

David G. Bromley,博士。
弗吉尼亚联邦大学世界研究学院宗教研究项目教授
弗吉尼亚联邦大学人文与科学学院社会学系教授

DONORS /支持

世界宗教和灵性项目感谢弗吉尼亚联邦大学荣誉学院的资助 弗吉尼亚州Comonwealth大学荣誉学院,由Shand研究资助计划管理 宗教科学研究学会和Thomas Robbins Trust。 这笔资金在初始网站建设和发展方面尤为重要。 WRSP正在建立捐赠基金,以支持建设和维持项目的工作。

研究伙伴

几位优秀学生为WRSP的发展做出了贡献。 这些研究员已经担任WRSP的领导角色,并为该项目共同撰写和撰写了团队概况。

Amanda Telefsen女士(2011-2012)

Leah Hott女士(2012-2013)

研究助理

许多本科生和研究生在WRSP的学术工作中协助数据收集和简介起草。

Stephanie Edelman女士(2011-2012)

Reed Braden先生(2016-2017)

网页设计

卢克亚历山大先生

分享

About Us

Share

PROJECT HISTORY

The World Religions & Spirituality Project (WRSP) was established in 2010 at Virginia Commonwealth University. The mission of the WRSP is to provide objective, reliable and comprehensive information about the world’s diverse array of religious and spiritual groups. The central feature of the WRSP website is, therefore, profiles of contemporary religious and spiritual movements, established world religions, and historical religious and spiritual movements. Wherever possible, profiles are prepared by scholars of record for the groups that they profile. Each profile includes a presentation of the group’s history, distinctive beliefs, rituals, organization and leadership, and issues/challenges. Particularly with respect to newer groups, reliable information often is less accessible, and this website offers comprehensive, balanced information for religion scholars, students, media representatives and those with a personal interest in understanding the diversity of religious and spiritual alternatives in the contemporary world. In addition to the group profiles, WRSP features an ARTICLES/PAPERS section, which contains scholarship that supplements and provides context for the profiles; an ARCHIVES section, which hosts historically important documents for some groups and provides links to other archival sites; the WRSP FORUM, which conducts interviews with individuals who offer important information and perspective on groups and issues relevant to the WRSP mission; WRSP VIDEO CONNECTIONS, which provides links to contextual video material that can be found online; and WRSP SPECIAL PROJECTS, which provide all of the WRSP components for specific topics or geographical regions.

The World Religions and Spirituality Project draws its original inspiration and impetus from the New Religious Movements Homepage Project, which was founded in 1995 by Professor Jeffrey K. Hadden in conjunction with an undergraduate course on New Religious Movements. Under Professor Hadden’s leadership the Religious Movements Homepage grew into one of the largest sites of its kind in the world and became an important Internet resource for scholarship and teaching in the area of contemporary religious movements. Following Professor Hadden’s untimely death in 2003, Professor Douglas E. Cowan, Renison College of the University of Waterloo, assumed the position of Project Director to assure the website’s continuation. In 2010, Professor David G. Bromley, Virginia Commonwealth University, became Project Director and redirected and broadened the mission of what has now become the World Religions & Spirituality Project (WRSP). New components have been added to the original project, and authors now are recruited from scholars around the world who are authors of record on the groups they profile, and groups of scholars are assuming leadership roles in WRSP through the development or WRSP SPECIAL PROJECTS.

PROJECT FOUNDER/DIRECTOR:

David G. Bromley, Ph.D.
Professor, Religious Studies Program, School of World Studies, Virginia Commonwealth University
Professor, Department of Sociology, College of Humanities and Sciences, Virginia Commonwealth University

DONORS/SUPPORTERS

The World Religions and Spirituality Project gratefully acknowledges funding from the Virginia Commonwealth University Honors College Virginia Comonwealth University Honors College, the Shand Research Grant Program administered by the Society for the Scientific Study of Religion, and the Thomas Robbins Trust. This funding was particularly instrumental in initial website construction and development. WRSP is in the process of building an endowment to support the work of building and sustaining the project.

RESEARCH ASSOCIATES

Several outstanding students have contributed to the development of WRSP. These Research Associates have assumed leadership roles with WRSP and have co-authored and authored group profiles for the project.

Ms. Amanda Telefsen (2011-2012)

Ms. Leah Hott (2012-2013)

RESEARCH ASSISTANTS

A number of undergraduate and graduate students have assisted in data gathering and profile drafting for WRSP in conjunction with their academic work.

Ms. Stephanie Edelman (2011-2012)

Mr. Reed Braden (2016-2017)

WEB DESIGN

Mr. Luke Alexander
www.lukemalexander.com

 

Share

Home | About Us | Partnerships | Profiles | Resources | Authors | Donate | Contact

Copyright © 2016 World Religions and Spirituality Project

All Rights Reserved

Web Design by Luke Alexander