تاريخ المشروع

تأسس مشروع الأديان والروحانيات العالمية (WRSP) في عام 2010 في جامعة فيرجينيا كومنولث. تتمثل مهمة WRSP في توفير معلومات موضوعية وموثوقة وشاملة حول مجموعة متنوعة من الجماعات الدينية والروحية في العالم. وبالتالي ، فإن السمة المركزية لموقع WRSP هي ملامح الحركات الدينية والروحية المعاصرة وأديان العالم الراسخة والحركات الدينية والروحية التاريخية. حيثما أمكن ، يتم إعداد الملفات الشخصية بواسطة علماء مسجلين للمجموعات التي يقومون بتكوينها. يتضمن كل ملف تعريف عرضًا تقديميًا لتاريخ المجموعة ، والمعتقدات المميزة ، والطقوس ، والتنظيم والقيادة ، والقضايا / التحديات. لا سيما فيما يتعلق بالمجموعات الأحدث ، غالبًا ما يكون الوصول إلى المعلومات الموثوقة أقل سهولة ، ويوفر هذا الموقع معلومات شاملة ومتوازنة لعلماء الدين والطلاب وممثلي وسائل الإعلام وأولئك الذين لديهم اهتمام شخصي بفهم تنوع البدائل الدينية والروحية في العالم المعاصر. بالإضافة إلى ملفات تعريف المجموعة ، يتميز WRSP بقسم مقالات / أوراق ، والذي يحتوي على منحة دراسية تكمل وتوفر سياقًا للملفات الشخصية ؛ قسم المحفوظات ، الذي يستضيف وثائق مهمة تاريخيًا لبعض المجموعات ويوفر روابط لمواقع أرشيفية أخرى ؛ منتدى WRSP ، الذي يجري مقابلات مع الأفراد الذين يقدمون معلومات مهمة ووجهات نظر حول المجموعات والقضايا ذات الصلة بمهمة WRSP ؛ وصلات فيديو WRSP ، التي توفر روابط لمواد الفيديو السياقية التي يمكن العثور عليها عبر الإنترنت ؛ و WRSP SPECIAL PROJECTS ، التي توفر جميع مكونات WRSP لمواضيع أو مناطق جغرافية محددة.

يستمد مشروع الأديان والروحانيات العالمية إلهامه الأصلي وزخمه من مشروع الصفحة الرئيسية للحركات الدينية الجديدة ، الذي تأسس في عام 1995 من قبل الأستاذ جيفري ك.هادين بالاشتراك مع دورة جامعية حول الحركات الدينية الجديدة. تحت قيادة البروفيسور هادن ، نمت الصفحة الرئيسية للحركات الدينية لتصبح واحدة من أكبر المواقع من نوعها في العالم وأصبحت مصدرًا مهمًا على الإنترنت للمعرفة والتعليم في مجال الحركات الدينية المعاصرة. بعد وفاة البروفيسور هادن المفاجئة في عام 2003 ، تولى البروفيسور دوجلاس إي كوان ، من كلية رينيسون بجامعة واترلو ، منصب مدير المشروع لضمان استمرار الموقع. في عام 2010 ، أصبح البروفيسور ديفيد جي بروملي ، من جامعة فيرجينيا كومنولث ، مدير المشروع وأعاد توجيه وتوسيع مهمة ما أصبح الآن مشروع الأديان والروحانيات العالمي (WRSP). تمت إضافة مكونات جديدة إلى المشروع الأصلي ، ويتم تعيين المؤلفين الآن من علماء من جميع أنحاء العالم ممن هم مؤلفون مسجلون في المجموعات التي يمثلونها ، وتتولى مجموعات من العلماء أدوارًا قيادية في WRSP من خلال التطوير أو مشاريع WRSP الخاصة.

مؤسس المشروع / المدير:

ديفيد ج. بروملي ، دكتوراه
أستاذ ، برنامج الدراسات الدينية ، كلية الدراسات العالمية ، جامعة فرجينيا كومنولث
أستاذ ، قسم علم الاجتماع ، كلية العلوم الإنسانية ، جامعة فرجينيا كومنولث

المانحين / أنصار

يعترف مشروع الأديان العالمية والروحانية بامتنان بتمويل من كلية الشرف بجامعة فرجينيا كومنولث جامعة فرجينيا كومونويلث تكرم كليةبرنامج منحة شاند للأبحاث التي تديرها جمعية الدراسات العلمية للدينوتوماس روبنز ترست. كان هذا التمويل فعالًا بشكل خاص في إنشاء الموقع الإلكتروني وتطويره. يعمل WRSP على بناء هبات لدعم عمل بناء المشروع واستدامته.

شركاء البحث

ساهم العديد من الطلاب المتفوقين في تطوير WRSP. لقد تولى هؤلاء الباحثون المشاركون أدوارًا قيادية مع WRSP وشاركوا في تأليف وتوصيفات جماعية للمشروع.

السيدة أماندا تيلفسن (2011-2012)

السيدة ليا هوت (2012-2013)

مساعدو البحث

وقد ساعد عدد من الطلاب الجامعيين وطلاب الدراسات العليا في جمع البيانات وصياغة الملف الشخصي ل WRSP بالتزامن مع عملهم الأكاديمي.

السيدة ستيفاني إيدلمان (2011-2012)

السيد ريد برادن (2016-2017)

تصميم ويب

السيد لوك الكسندر

شارك

About Us

Share

PROJECT HISTORY

The World Religions & Spirituality Project (WRSP) was established in 2010 at Virginia Commonwealth University. The mission of the WRSP is to provide objective, reliable and comprehensive information about the world’s diverse array of religious and spiritual groups. The central feature of the WRSP website is, therefore, profiles of contemporary religious and spiritual movements, established world religions, and historical religious and spiritual movements. Wherever possible, profiles are prepared by scholars of record for the groups that they profile. Each profile includes a presentation of the group’s history, distinctive beliefs, rituals, organization and leadership, and issues/challenges. Particularly with respect to newer groups, reliable information often is less accessible, and this website offers comprehensive, balanced information for religion scholars, students, media representatives and those with a personal interest in understanding the diversity of religious and spiritual alternatives in the contemporary world. In addition to the group profiles, WRSP features an ARTICLES/PAPERS section, which contains scholarship that supplements and provides context for the profiles; an ARCHIVES section, which hosts historically important documents for some groups and provides links to other archival sites; the WRSP FORUM, which conducts interviews with individuals who offer important information and perspective on groups and issues relevant to the WRSP mission; WRSP VIDEO CONNECTIONS, which provides links to contextual video material that can be found online; and WRSP SPECIAL PROJECTS, which provide all of the WRSP components for specific topics or geographical regions.

The World Religions and Spirituality Project draws its original inspiration and impetus from the New Religious Movements Homepage Project, which was founded in 1995 by Professor Jeffrey K. Hadden in conjunction with an undergraduate course on New Religious Movements. Under Professor Hadden’s leadership the Religious Movements Homepage grew into one of the largest sites of its kind in the world and became an important Internet resource for scholarship and teaching in the area of contemporary religious movements. Following Professor Hadden’s untimely death in 2003, Professor Douglas E. Cowan, Renison College of the University of Waterloo, assumed the position of Project Director to assure the website’s continuation. In 2010, Professor David G. Bromley, Virginia Commonwealth University, became Project Director and redirected and broadened the mission of what has now become the World Religions & Spirituality Project (WRSP). New components have been added to the original project, and authors now are recruited from scholars around the world who are authors of record on the groups they profile, and groups of scholars are assuming leadership roles in WRSP through the development or WRSP SPECIAL PROJECTS.

PROJECT FOUNDER/DIRECTOR:

David G. Bromley, Ph.D.
Professor, Religious Studies Program, School of World Studies, Virginia Commonwealth University
Professor, Department of Sociology, College of Humanities and Sciences, Virginia Commonwealth University

DONORS/SUPPORTERS

The World Religions and Spirituality Project gratefully acknowledges funding from the Virginia Commonwealth University Honors College Virginia Comonwealth University Honors College, the Shand Research Grant Program administered by the Society for the Scientific Study of Religion, and the Thomas Robbins Trust. This funding was particularly instrumental in initial website construction and development. WRSP is in the process of building an endowment to support the work of building and sustaining the project.

RESEARCH ASSOCIATES

Several outstanding students have contributed to the development of WRSP. These Research Associates have assumed leadership roles with WRSP and have co-authored and authored group profiles for the project.

Ms. Amanda Telefsen (2011-2012)

Ms. Leah Hott (2012-2013)

RESEARCH ASSISTANTS

A number of undergraduate and graduate students have assisted in data gathering and profile drafting for WRSP in conjunction with their academic work.

Ms. Stephanie Edelman (2011-2012)

Mr. Reed Braden (2016-2017)

WEB DESIGN

Mr. Luke Alexander
www.lukemalexander.com

 

Share

Home | About Us | Partnerships | Profiles | Resources | Authors | Donate | Contact

Copyright © 2016 World Religions and Spirituality Project

All Rights Reserved

Web Design by Luke Alexander