為作者和潛在作者定位信息


邀請作者

WRSP簡介的作者是受邀請的。 歡迎合格的學者諮詢WRSP的作者機會。

邀請函由WRSP主任或WRSP特別項目主任發出邀請函,特殊項目簡介的簡介格式說明可能略有不同。

一旦安排了作者身份,作者就會收到以下的個人資料準備說明。


簡介準備

輪廓長度
由於WRSP在線,我們不需要遵守嚴格的字數。 但是,我們確實有長度指南。 組配置文件通常在3,500和7,500字之間運行。 個人資料長度因團體規模,年齡,多樣性,複雜性等而異。如果您發現您的個人資料可能不屬於這些指南,請與項目主管聯繫以獲取進一步指導。 最終目標是生成讀者可訪問的配置文件,範圍廣泛,質量前沿。

檔案模板

應遵循標準配置文件模板。 模板標題全部包括:[組名]時間表,創始人/集團歷史,文憑/信仰,儀式/慣例,組織/領導,問題/挑戰。

WRSP模闆對整個項目非常重要。 它旨在包括主要類別的宗教/精神組織和活動,並儘可能統一地提供信息。 因此,作者必須適應剖面結構。 請避免使用其他標題和子標題。

重要的是要記住,WRSP涵蓋了廣泛的群體,包括那些拒絕歸類為宗教或精神的群體,即使學者發現它們與宗教/靈性研究相關。 WRSP中包括的群體也包括已建立的製度化群體,以及在各種歷史和社會文化背景下形成過程中的新群體和運動。 正如下面討論的項目所表明的那樣,宗教/精神群體異常多樣化,因此在個人資料模板中列舉的群組的核心要素也會有很大差異。 該模板旨在創建一個共同的表示形式,包括宗教/精神組織的核心要素,並提供強調的靈活性。

在許多情況下,有關該小組的討論會一直在進行理論和經驗辯論。 在創始人/團體歷史記錄部分中記錄此類辯論(例如出生日期或組織歷史的爭議)很有用。 在某些理論,學科辯論中,例如在群體如何生存,發展或發展積極/消極傾向方面,個體群體也可能很重要。 這些辯論不適用於與團體有關的個人資料,而不是與團體有關的學術辯論。

由於可用信息或任何模板類別的重要性可能不同,因此配置文件的各個部分的長度可能會有很大差異。 在配置文件中表示所有部分非常重要。 如果配置文件的某個部分幾乎沒有可用的信息,則可以合併類別以用於演示目的(例如,教義/儀式)。

一些特殊項目確實有一些修改過的模板,以反映該特殊項目的方向和內容。 在這些特殊項目中,模板在特殊項目配置文件中保持一致。 開始編寫配置文件時,請務必諮詢適當的型號。

  1. 小組時間表
    時間表旨在簡要概述配置文件。 只在時間軸中放置重大事件; 細節在文中。 參賽作品應簡短(一兩句話)並以過去時態書寫。 由於時間表旨在作為簡要摘要,因此時間表中的所有內容也應包含在配置文件的其他位置。 時間表條目的正確格式為[年份(如果適用,則為月份和日期)。 (兩個空格)過去時一個或兩個句子。
  2. 創始人/集團歷史
    群體的歷史形態各不相同。 WRSP涵蓋了一些具有古代歷史和未知創始人的團體,以及擁有多個創始人的團體。 因此,該模板標題是一個通用標題,旨在涵蓋整個組織的創立和歷史發展。 有關集團創始人的任何履歷信息都屬於此處。 該簡介的這一部分還可能包括有關社會/文化的相關背景信息,這些信息導致了該小組的成立。
  3. 教義/信念
    配置文件的此部分包含有關正在分析的組的符號組織的信息,指導組織組織和活動的敘述。 這些敘述從正式和廣泛到隱含和模糊不等。 在任何一種情況下,目標都是闡明群體的世界觀和象徵性的自我合法性。
  4. 儀式/做法
    正如教義/信仰的情況一樣,群體在正式儀式的存在和重要性方面各不相同,本節應該提供這樣的信息。 在一些群體中,例如社區團體和修道院群體,日常生活本身可能是高度儀式化的。 對於正式團體,如宗教間團體或博物館,促進集體使命的主要組織實踐將放在本節中。
  5. 組織/領導力
    受到關注的群體包括從從業者/從屬者之間的鬆散網絡到高度官僚化的組織,從古老的組織到現在興起的組織,到曾經活躍但現在已經不存在的組織。 領導模式將以類似的方式變化。 概要的這一部分的目的是描述可以識別出組織和領導力的任何形式和級別。
  6. 問題/挑戰
    事實上,每個被描述的群體都經歷了內部和外部挑戰的某種組合。 財務問題,政治反對,對領導層的挑戰,從屬關係和解散問題都是常見的例子。 本節重要的是要在報告中保持平衡和中立,並簡單地報告問題及其解決方案(如果有的話)。
  7. 圖片
    在大多數配置文件中,我們包含圖像以向文本添加視覺尺寸。 圖像需要直接連接到放置它們的配置文件中的段落,並在視覺上有助於理解配置文件中顯示的材料。配置文件作者通常可以訪問自己工作中的圖像,並可能要求使用這些圖像得到他們的許可。

    WRSP避免包含似乎顯示權限或版權問題的圖像。 我們確實使用了我們認為符合“合理使用”準則的縮略圖,如果對其使用存在任何爭議,我們會立即刪除圖像。

  8. 文本引文
    WRSP使用大多數期刊中典型的標准文本引文(作者[空間]年份:頁面)。
  9. 參考文獻列表
    配置文件引用列表僅包含文本中引用的源。同一作者有多個條目,最多 最近 出版首先出現。

    如果作者希望為讀者提供額外的上下文源,可以在參考列表之後構建補充資源列表。

    大多數簡介都是基於簡介作者和其他學者以前的工作,偶爾只是原創研究。 在涉及原始研究的情況下,可以引用實地工作日期的個人通信。 如果配置文件主要基於單個來源,WRSP可以在“參考”部分的開頭插入一個註釋,指出“除非另有說明,否則此配置文件中的材料來自......”。)

  10. 筆記和鏈接
    WRSP配置文件不適用腳註和尾註。 如果材料對配置文件很重要,則應將其放在文本中.WRSP不會在配置文本中插入外部鏈接以避免死鏈接問題; 我們在內部鏈接到其他WRSP配置文件,因為我們控制這些連接。 我們的替代方案是插入對目標網站的引用,並將URL放在引用列表中對網站的引用中。
  11. 作者介紹
    作為期刊文章或書籍章節提交的作者生物應該與簡介一起提供。 作者姓名顯示在個人資料標題下方,並成為bio的鏈接。

 

分享到

For Authors

Share

Orienting Information for Authors and Potential Authors


INVITATIONS TO AUTHOR

Authorship of WRSP profiles is by invitation. Qualified scholars are welcome to inquire about authorship opportunities with WRSP.

Letters of invitation originate with the WRSP Director or Directors of WRSP Special Project letters of invitation and profile format instructions for Special Project profiles may differ slightly.

Once authorship has been arranged, authors are sent the profile preparation instructions below.


PROFILE PREPARATION

Profile Length
Since WRSP is online, we do not need to observe strict word counts. However, we do have length guidelines. Group profiles typically run between 3,500 and 7,500 words. Profile length varies as a result of group size, age, diversity, complexity, etc. If you find that your profile might fall outside of those guideposts, please contact the project director for further guidance. The ultimate objective is to produce profiles that are accessible to readers, comprehensive in scope, and cutting edge in quality.

Profile Template

There is a standard profile template that should be followed. Template headers are in all caps: [GROUP NAME] TIMELINE, FOUNDER/GROUP HISTORY, DOCTRINES/BELIEFS, RITUALS/PRACTICES, ORGANIZATION/LEADERSHIP, ISSUES/CHALLENGES.

The WRSP template is very important to the overall project. It is intended to include major categories of religious/spiritual organization and activity, and to present information as uniformly as possible across profiles. It is therefore important for authors to accommodate to the profile structure. Please avoid additional headers and subheaders.

It is important to remember that WRSP covers a broad range of groups, including those that reject categorization as religious or spiritual even though scholars find them relevant to the study of religion/spirituality. Groups included in WRSP also range from established, institutionalized groups to new groups and movements in the process of formation in a variety of historical and sociocultural contexts. As the items discussed below indicate, religious/spiritual groups are extraordinarily diverse, and so core elements of groups that are enumerated in the profile template also vary significantly. The template is intended create a common presentation form, include core elements of religious/spiritual organization, and offer flexibility in emphasis.

In many cases there will be ongoing theoretical and empirical debates about the group being profiled. It is useful to note such debates, such as disputed dates of birth or organizational history, in the founder/group history section.  Individual groups may also be important in some theoretical, disciplinary debates, such as how groups survive, develop, or develop aggressive/passive tendencies. These debates are not appropriate to profiles, which are about the groups and not academic debates about them.

The sections of the profile may vary considerably in length as available information on or the importance of any of the template categories may vary. It is important that all of the sections be represented in the profile. In the event that there is virtually no information available for a section of the profile, it may be possible to merge categories for presentation purposes (e.g, Doctrines/Rituals).

Some of the special projects do have somewhat modified templates to reflect the orientation and content of that special project. In those special projects the template is consistent across special project profiles. Be sure to consult an appropriate model when beginning to write a profile.

  1. Group Timeline
    The timeline is intended as a brief overview of the profile. Put only major events in the timeline; details go in the text. Entries should be brief (one or two sentences) and written in the past tense. Since timelines are intended as brief summaries, all of the content in the timeline should also be contained elsewhere in the profile. The proper format for timeline entries is [Year (month and day if appropriate). (Two spaces) One or two sentence entry in the past tense.
  2. Founder/Group History
    Groups vary consideraby in the shape of their histories. WRSP covers some groups with ancient histories and unknown founders to groups with multiple founders. This template header therefore is therefore a generic one intended to cover the founding and historical development of the group through the present. Any biographical information on the group founder belongs here. This section of the profile may also include relevant contextual information on the society/culture that led to the founding of the group being profiled.
  3. Doctrines/Beliefs
    This section of the profile contains information on the symbolic organization of the group being profiled, the narratives that guide group organization and activity. These narratives vary from formal and extensive to implicit and indistinct. In either event, the objective is to articulate the group’s worldview and symbolic self-legitimation.
  4. Rituals/Practices
    As is the case for doctrines/beliefs, groups vary in the existence and importance of formal rituals, and this section should such information. In some groups, such as communal groups and monastic groups, daily life itself may be highly ritualized. For formal groups, such as interfaith groups or museums, the primary organizational practices in furtherance of the collective mission would be placed in this section.
  5. Organization/Leadership
    Profiled groups will range from very loose networks of practitioners/affiliates to highly bureaucratized organizations, from ancient to currently emergent to once active but now defunct. Leadership patterns will vary in a similar way.  The objective of this section of the profile is to describe whatever form and level of organization and leadership can be discerned.
  6. Issues/Challenges
    Virtually every profiled group has undergone some combination of internal and external challenges. Financial issues, political opposition, challenges to leadership, affiliation and disaffiliation issues are common examples. It is important for this section to maintain balance and neutrality in reporting and simply report the issues and their resolution (if any).
  7. Images
    In most profiles we include images to add a visual dimension to the text. Images need to be connected directly to the paragraph in the profile where they are placed and to contribute visually to an understanding of the material presented in the profile.Profile authors often have access to images from their own work and may request that those images are used with their permission.

    WRSP avoids including images that appear to present permissions or copyright issues. We do use thumbnail images that we think will qualify under “fair use” guidelines, and we always remove images immediately if there is any dispute about their use.

  8. In-text Citations
    WRSP uses standard in-text citations typical of most journals (Author [space] Year:Pages).
  9. Reference List
    The profile reference list contains only sources cited in text.Where there are multiple entries by the same author, the most recent publication appears first.

    If the author wishes to provide additional contextual sources to readers, a Supplementary Resources list may be constructed following the reference List.

    Most profiles are based on previous work by the profile author and other scholars and only occasionally on original research. Where original research is involved, citations may be made to personal communications of fieldwork dates. If a profile is based primarily on a single source, WRSP may insert a note at the beginning of the References section stating that “Unless otherwise noted, the material in this profile is drawn from …….”)

  10. Notes and Links
    WRSP profiles do not accommodate footnotes and endnotes. If material important to a profile, it should be placed in the text.WRSP does not insert external links in the profile text in order to avoid dead link issues; we do link to other WRSP profiles internally since we control those connections. Our alternative is to insert a reference to the intended website and place the URL in a reference to the website in the reference list.
  11. Author Bio
    An author bio like those submitted for journal articles or book chapters should accompany the profile. The authors name appears below the profile title and becomes a link to the bio.

 

Share

Home | About Us | Partnerships | Profiles | Resources | Donate | Contact

Copyright © 2016 World Religions and Spirituality Project

All Rights Reserved

Web Design by Luke Alexander